Regional Domestic Security Task Force (RDSTF)



Following 9/11, Florida divided itself into seven (7) Regional Domestic Security Task Forces. These regions follow the FDLE regions within the State. The Tampa Bay RDSTF (Region 4) consists of eight (8) counties: Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, Pasco, Pinellas, Hillsborough, Polk, and Hardee. Until recently it also included Manatee, but a realignment to follow the FDLE borders put Manatee in Region 6. Due to the proximity of Manatee and its port and boundary with Tampa Bay, Manatee continues to be involved in our regional planning.

The goal of the RDSTF is to provide a regional response to any WMD or terrorist incident that may occur within the State. It allows smaller counties that do not have lots of resources to draw from those that do. It also allows these smaller counties to provide assistance to larger metropolitan areas if an event occurs there. Addressing security issues at a regional level also allows for “economies of scale” for homeland security funds, especially in recent years as the amount of DHS funding to the States has decreased. Florida has been routinely hailed as a model for domestic security planning throughout the nation as a result of this regional approach.












Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone by calling (727) 570-5151 or in writing to 4000 Gateway Centre Blvd., Suite 100, Pinellas Park, Florida 33782. Copyright © 2013 Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council. All Rights Reserved.